Episcopal services, Mother Parish of Kansas City, St. Lukes Hospital, the ghost of Reverend Henry David Jardine
The “Mother parish of Kansas City” boasts not only 31 beautifully stained glass windows, but also a rich and fascinating history. The oldest Episcopal church in Kansas City began as a small parish in 1854 under the name of St. Luke’s. The new church building’s construction was completed in 1887 and officially opened for services in 1888. Victorian and late Gothic stylistic detail combined with a red brick veneer proffer a stunning building on Holmes Street. William Halsey Wood – architect and designer of St. Mary’s – incorporated many items from the old parish into the new interior of the structure, such as original wrought iron hanging light fixtures and a giant wooden cross. Any building suffers deterioration, but luckily a grant in the late 1950s saved the church from demolition and restorations began. The parish contributed greatly to the cause of the poor, hungry and ailing, laying the foundations for All Saints Hospital, which we now know as St. Lukes Hospital. The altar within the church is dedicated to Reverend Henry David Jardine, the parish’s first rector. It is believed that his spirit hangs around the building to this day!